Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters I’d Name a Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After…

Happy Top Ten Tuesday, everyone! I know, I know, it’s such a surprise (😱) that I am posting during the week!

I got this great idea to write the majority of my drafts during the weekend and then set the timer to post them automatically! Now, the only potential problem with this is the fact that a draft may get posted… And I am not finished with it😂 It probably won’t happen, but if you see an incomplete draft posted, just… keep the fact that I am a scatterbrained Biology major in mind. 😜

What is Top Ten Tuesday?🤔

For those of you who’ve not heard of “Top Ten Tuesday,” allow me to enlighten you! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish every Tuesday and, each Tuesday, there is different topic for which you list your top ten picks. Isn’t it just brilliant?! Be sure to check out The Broke and the Bookish’s blog! You don’t want to miss their awesome bookishness!

Today’s topic is: Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After…. 😏 Heheh… I definitely had a lot of fun with this one!

1. Azalea (Entwined by Heather Dixon)
I just love this name because it’s so… beautiful, I think! It’s elegant and graceful and it rolls off the tongue easily.

2. Ren (Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck)
I love this name because of the character it reminds me of! Ren, the character, is so sweet and gentle, yet fierce and protective. I’d definitely name my dog (or cat) after him! Or a child… I mean, why not?

3. Gatsby (The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald)
I do, in fact, have a dog named Gatsby after The Great Gatsby. He has yet to find his Daisy…

4. Henry (The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter)

5. Jezlia/Lia (Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson)
This name reminds me of a fighter (the character in the book is very much a fighter)! Someone who is very clever and doesn’t give up easily. It’s a unique name and I… oh I don’t know, I just like it!

6. Feyre (A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas)
I’ve never heard this name prior to reading ACOTAR… Probably because Ms. Maas made it up! How cool is it to make a name up? I mean, anyone can do it, but whether or not it sounds good is another story entirely. Again, this name rolls off the tongue nicely and it’s not harsh sounding.

7. Dante (The Hourglass Door by Lisa Magnum)
I had to put Dante on the list because THD is my FAVORITE book of all time. It never gets old. Dante is an amazing guy. Oh, how I wish he existed.

8. Maxon (The Selection by Keira Cass)
Prince Maxon from The Selection is…. I don’t even have the words! I really like this name… It’s different! And you can get the nickname “max” from it!

9. Eadlyn (The Selection series by Keira Cass)
This is an anglo-saxon name that I have never heard of prior to reading The Heir! I immediately liked it. I think it’s very feminine and elegant.

10. Kestrel (The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski)
I don’t know what it is about this name, but I really like it! Yes, it is a type of bird. No, that doesn’t make it any less cool! I just really like the way this name sounds!What are your Top Ten Tuesday picks? Let me know in the comment box!

Hope you guys had a great Tuesday!

XOXO

Maya

🍂Fall Book Recipes: What Books I Recommend Reading During Fall and What to Eat/Drink While Reading Said Books🍂

Hello lovelies! So, as you know, I have a *ahem* slight (don’t laugh) obsession with the anything and everything pertaining to the fall season. That, and I have an obsession with books. So I thought, why not put those things together? So… I’ve decided to put this blog post together called Fall Book Recipes: What Books I Recommend Reading During Fall and What to Eat/Drink While Reading Said Books! Here, I will talk about what books I think are best to read during the chilly weather of the fall season and what I love eating/drinking while I am reading these books. I might start doing this every season! We shall see!

When I think of reading in the fall, I, for some reason, think mystery and paranormal thrillers… And, of course, romance! Now, I don’t have many mystery books, but the starred books are paranormal thrillers (there is a mystery-kind-of element in it, too!). Their synopses are below the list, too, for your convenience!

  1. Haveby Kristi Cook with caramel apple spice/hot apple cider and scones (or muffins!)
  2. *The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting with warm chocolate chip cookies (I’d say this series is also a good winter season series, as well!)
  3. The Hourglass Door by Lisa Magnum with pancakes. Or if you don’t have pancakes readily available, chocolates of any kind will work, too!
  4. Abandon by Meg Cabot with tea (of any kind, but, personally, I love English tea with cream and sugar)
  5. *Made for You by Melissa Marr (This is definitely a mystery novel!) Because it’s a mystery novel, I would do the following: get a bunch of snacks and make your own chex mix out of it! Put it in a baggie or dark bowl so you can’t see what you are grabbing! And then you can be surprised by the flavors… Or you can just have a nice, steaming hot cup of soup!
  6. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick with hot chocolate and whipped cream and cinnamon popcorn (or any sweet popcorn, really)

📜Synopses (According to Barnes and Noble’s Website):

  1. Haven by Kristi Cook (5 stars!)

A breathtaking paranormal romance about boarding school students with special powers is now in paperback.
Violet McKenna thought she was crazy when she had a vivid vision of her dad’s murder—but when her premonition came true, her life fell apart. Then she found a new school. At Winterhaven, Violet fits right in. All the students have special “gifts” like her own, and she quickly finds a close group of friends. But Violet’s attraction to an alluring boy becomes problematic when intense visions of his death start to haunt her. In her premonitions, the secret he is unwilling to share begins to reveal itself—and the unbelievable becomes reality. To Violet’s horror, she learns that their destinies are intertwined in a crictical—and deadly—way.

2. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting (4.5 stars!)

A gripping tale of a girl with a morbid ability that could lead her to a killer . . . and the boy who would never let anything happen to her.
Sixteen-year-old Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her unusual so-called gift. While her confusing feelings for her best friend are new, she has been able to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered—and the imprints that attach to their killers since she was a little girl. Violet has never considered her ability useful, but now that a serial killer has begun terrorizing her small town she realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.
Fiercely protective of her, Jay agrees to help Violet search for the murderer. But even as she’s falling in love, Violet is getting closer to discovering a killer . . . and becoming his prey herself.

3. The Hourglass Door by Lisa Magnum (Uhm… More than 5 stars!)

His past. Her future. Can love bring them together in time?
Abby’s senior year of high school is going according to plan: good friends, cute boyfriend, and college applications in the mail. But when Dante Alexander, foreign-exchange student from Italy, steps into her life, he turns it upside down. He’s mysterious, and interesting, and unlike anyone she’s ever met before. Abby can’t deny the growing attraction she feels for him. Nor can she deny the unusual things that seem to happen when Dante is around. Soon Abby finds herself drawn into a mystery whose roots reach into sixteenth-century Florence, and she uncovers a dangerous truth that threatens not only her future but the lives of those she loves.

4. Abandon by Meg Cabot (5 stars!)

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.
But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.
Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.
But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

5. Made for You by Melissa Marr (4.5 stars)

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill—the ability to foresee people’s deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva’s power to keep their friends—and each other—from falling into the hands of a killer.
This contemporary romantic suspense novel from five-time New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr earned widespread critical acclaim, with Kirkus Reviews calling it a “riveting whodunit that delivers a bouquet of teen romance, paranormal, and thriller.” And BCCB declared, “Between the suspense, the horror, the romance, and the wit, this will have equal appeal for fans of Sarah Dessen and Rosemary Clement-Moore.”
A stark departure from her fantasy settings, this Southern Gothic, racy thriller gives fans old and new chilling twists, unrequited obsession, and high-stakes romance.

6. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick (More than 5 stars!)

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.
With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.
But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

So those are my recommended fall recipes for all you bookworms out there! I hope you guys enjoyed this post! Let me know if you liked it enough to think it’d be desirable for another seasonal post such as this. Have a lovely week!

XOXO

Maya

 

 

 

 

🍂🍁Fall Break 2016🍁🍂

Hey, hey, hey! I am finally posting, if you can believe it! I am so sorry for my long absence and my poor quality posts of late. Please know that I am trying my hardest to work on my drafts throughout the week (actually getting around to posting it is actually the hardest part, believe it or not)! I really miss reading, writing, reviewing, and blogging so much it’s not even funny. (Where did that saying come from?) I am hoping to get better at posting more often while I am here at uni, but no guarantees, you guys (😭). The Biology major life is one that doesn’t take breaks, unfortunately. Speaking of which….

Continue reading