July Book Haul!📚🛍

So yesterday, I stopped at the amazing Barnes and Noble bookstore and came out with three books: Gone by Michael Grant, The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead, and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I am so excited to get my greedy little fingers on these books… But I have my July TBR to finish! So what does a bookworm do in this sort of situation?

She adds the three books to her July TBR…

Because, why not?

It is quite unlikely that I will finish all the books on my July TBR, but I just can’t contain my excitement over these books😁 I will do my best to read and review as many books as I can this month! Especially because I am leaving for college in little over a month (Is that crazy scary or what?) and once college starts, I won’t have quite as much time to read and review😕!

Whenever I go to B&N, I have a list📋 of what I’d like to buy (a never ending list, really), but this time I picked only one off the list (An Ember in the Ashes) and the rest were random picks! I’ve seen Gone and The Glittering Court around, but I never really thought to see what they were about – until today! I read the snippets and I just knew I needed to purchase them!

Synopsis of Gone 💨(straight from the back of the book):

“In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Everyone except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not a single adult. No teachers, no doctors, no parents. Gone, too, are the phones, internet, and television. There is no way to get help. Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents – unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers – that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen and war is imminent. The first breathtaking saga about teens battling each other and their darkest selves, Gone is a page-turning thriller that will make you look at the world in a whole new way.”

Synopsis of The Glittering Court (straight from inside the book):

“Big and sweeping, spanning from refined places of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape and arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join The Glittering Court. Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is a designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court. When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise – first as they cross the teachers seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor. But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…”

Synopsis of An Ember in the Ashes🔥 (straight from inside the book):

“Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. In it in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do. But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s great military academy. There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest solider – and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined – and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.”

Don’t those sound amazing? Eep!!😁

I am currently reading The Madman’s Daughter🔬and it’s sooooo good! It has a huge Frankenstein element in it, but with a slight twist. I am very intrigued as to where this story is going to go! I am halfway through, so another day or two (or three, but probably not that long) and I should be finished and ready to review🖊

Before y’all go, stop by my friend Abby’s blog! She’s got some great stuff on there, from beauty tips and product reviews, to a summer bucket list!❤️  TotallyAbigail

Hope y’all have a blessed and bombsauce Wednesday!

-Maya🌹

Leave a comment