📚Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Books of 2020😷

Happy Tuesday, everyone! How is your week going so far? The days are winding down until next year…2021. Wow! I am excited to see what 2021 bring us. Despite the heartache and hardship of 😷2020😷, I hesitate to say the year was completely awful. While covid-19 personally affected my family in a few ways (like many others), my grandmother (my only living grandparent now) was recently diagnosed with cancer (I have lost 3 family members to cancer), I struggle with IBS, and my long term relationship ended….2020 still brought some good things: I graduated from university, did well on my MCAT, applied to medical school, got a job, started blogging and reading again, etc. I guess my point of this is, there are no stars without darkness. 🌌 Don’t get me wrong, those hardships were hard to get through – they still are. And I know there are others out there who have it worse. But we cannot possibly enjoy the good if there is no bad. If we choose to focus on the bad, we make that our reality, but if we look to the good… that becomes our reality and we face adversity with a readiness to succeed. These are just my thoughts! Please do not misconstrue them for anything else. I am just trying to spread some positivity and perspective as others have done for me; it made the difference between becoming lost in grief and despair versus looking forward to the better things ahead.❤️

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Jana @ThatArtsyReaderGirl. Every week, there is a new topic and, in our TTT posts, we list 10 items that pertain to the chosen topic of the week. The topic of this week is “favorite books of 2020.”

  1. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller
  2. Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin (Lol, you all had to know this was coming; I only talk about it all the time 😂)
  3. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
  4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  5. The Vanishing Stair by Maureen Johnson
  6. Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan
  7. The Near Witch by VE Schwab
  8. From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata
  9. Outbreak! by Mary Skwarecki
  10. Hunted by Meagan Spooner

What were your favorite books of 2020? Let me know in the comments below. Be sure to link your TTT post, too, so I don’t miss it! Catch up with you guys tomorrow for WWW Wednesday🥰

-Maya🌹

Be sure to follow me for more desirable bookish content!

25 thoughts on “📚Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Books of 2020😷

  1. We matched a writer! Schwab is simply amazing. A lot of these books are actually on my TBR and I hope to get to them soon. And I love Six of Crows and I can’t wait for the show. This is a great list. 😍Here’s the LINK to my post in case you want to drop by later.❤️️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh awesome! Yes, I quite like Schwab!! I just finished A Darker Shade of Magic and I quite liked it. Six of Crows was just so great, right?! I can’t wait to read Crooked Kingdom. Thank you for stopping by❤️🥰 I will definitely check out your post in a little bit! I am running errands, currently😂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I wish I had read Six of Crows sooner, honestly! It was really good. I am looking forward to reading Crooked Kingdom. Have you read Shadow and Bone? I have that on my TBR! Haha, no worries😂 It happens to everyone! 🥰

      Like

  2. Positive thoughts are good! And I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother. Sending best wishes and prayers for her. I need to get back to The Vanishing Stair and Levenseller sounds good as well- I wanted to rad that one when it came out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Greg🥰 I appreciate that! We are lucky that her cancer has not yet metastasized and she will undergo surgery here in about a week.

      I hope you pick up The Vanishing Stair and Daughter of the Pirate King and that you enjoy them as much as I did. The Vanishing Stair was even better than Truly, Devious and I loved Daughter of the Pirate King so much I finished it in one day 😂
      Thank you for stopping by!!

      Like

    • I am glad to hear that you love Stalking Jack the Ripper! I read quite a few other blog posts about that book and there were so many mixed reviews. I definitely land on the “loved it” side, though. I especially loved that the author made it historically accurate in some ways. It really got me interested in the true story of Jack the Ripper.

      Thank you! I hope that the new year is full of happiness, love and joy for you. Thank you for stopping by, Lauren!❤️

      Like

    • I am so happy to hear that you have all been healthy and that you are doing fine. I am sorry to hear of cancelled activities and travel plans for you – those can play such a large role in mental health and the impact of those being cancelled is not to be overlooked!❤️ It can be easy to look at the negative side of things (something I fall into quite often) but being positive makes things easier.

      Thank you for stopping by, Susan! Happy TTT and I hope you have a great rest of your week and 2020!❤️

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry you’ve had such a rough year! I’m sort of in the same boat, I lost my only grandparent to cancer this year. It’s been a tough one. Hoping for more good things for you in 2021.

    Like

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your grandparent. My deepest condolences to you and your family. It’s hard to lose a loved one and cancer sucks. Sending you lots of love and hugs❤️ I hope 2021 is better for you and that it’s filled with happiness, joy, love and books🥰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment